Posts

Checking in on Sunday

It's been quiet here. Piper is still moping around wishing she had someone to play with. I'm working on learning my real estate investment classes. Boy, it is a lot to learn and I'm not even halfway through the modules. Oh well, it'll give me something to do to fill the hours until the kids get back from their trip. You know those fix and flip shows make it seem so easy. They never show what happens behind the scenes. All the preparation that goes into making a deal to purchase a house to flip. Even the Gaines show that used to be on, you never saw all of what went into making it happen. I've never been good with math and boy is there a lot of financial calculations involved! Well, hopefully my daughter will understand that aspect of this project. We really want to get started and hopefully make some money before the end of the year. Of course for me, I need money by next month! Patience, yep something I've found is in little supply. I have patience, or at least...

It's a dogs world

Image
Well it's just me and Piper. She doesn't know what to do with herself. Grandma here doesn't play with animals, and Piper is just moping around the house looking for her good pal, Alan. Unfortunately they all went to Grapevine this weekend and it's just me and Piper, holding down the fort.  I looked on Facebook a moment ago and found where someone had posted pictures of our President visiting the troops. It is refreshing to see something positive since the media has been blasting him so much these last few months. And now that it's almost voting time, they are really going strong. It's just to bad that the parties cannot run a clean campaign. Ever wonder what would happen if one day both sides ran their campaigns on honesty and integrity, instead of lies and smear tactics? Guess we'll never know because I doubt either side could do that! Gotta get back to work on my real estate investing class. Hoping to learn something so Sondra and I can start doing a littl...

TGIF - Yippee!!!

Afternoon folks! I guess by now everyone is gearing up for a long weekend. National Labor Day Holiday is Monday. For those that work it means either a day off, holiday pay, or just simply a time to relax! For me, it's just another day. Actually this weekend I will be dog sitting. I'm not a fan of animals, especially dogs. When I was young, probably in the 3rd grade, I was bitten pretty badly, scared me to death, and ever since I'm been afraid of dogs. No matter what size they are, if they open their mouth and growl even a little bit, my nerves start to tingle! It's not as bad as it was when I was younger. I've been around dogs enough since then to understand that not all growls are menacing. However, knowing that doesn't keep my heart rate from going into double time! There are some dogs that I allow to touch me, but most I try not to handle. But Piper, that's who I'm dog sitting, is an English Boxer. She belongs to my grandsons, who don't take care ...

Thursday checking in

 It's Thursday almost Friday and I'm thanking my Heavenly Father that I did not fall getting up this morning! Still in the midst of trying to decide what to do with the rest of my life. Feeling overwhelmed every time I think about what's coming due and what am I to do about it. Looking into the real estate investment idea and my gosh there is so much to learn! Don't know if my brain has the capacity to soak it all in enough to actually make any money! I barely remember yesterday! I've definitely decided that the copywriting field is not for me. I find that living in my dream world is much easier for me. So, perhaps I'll dig out the old book, or even start a new one and try again to get something published. But it will be fiction for sure! Seems like Facebook is the place to post and repost stuff from the media that just stirs up controversy right and left! What makes me so mad about it, someone will post a picture, but they don't post ' the rest of the s...

Wednesday check in

 Hello to self! Fell out of bed this morning, literally. Bruised my knee, hit my face on the night stand and barely missed my eye! Guess my morning started out good!  I caught a video on facebook this morning of two women who have a radio show, I think, in Waco. They are conservatives and speak their mind. First time I'd heard them, but they were interesting and funny. Might have to tune in again to hear more. What I like about them is they are straight-forward, speak their mind, and don't care if you like what they say or not. They listen to the news and like me, feel that the media has a lot to do with stirring things up around our nation. Back to the rest of the morning....  still trying to figure out what to do with the rest of my life. Considering real estate investments. Now you might think it a little strange for someone who has no job, and no money, to even consider real estate investments, however, I'm learning that you don't necessary need to have money! To ma...

PCH has disappointed me!

 It's been one of those days! You know I do the Publishers Clearing House thing... play the games, get all my entries in, spend hours upon hours doing it... for what? To find out that there wasn't a winner in the BIG give away... you know the $7,000 a week for life give away....  Now you tell me how in the world could they NOT have a winner for that giveaway???? So they said they were awarding the $1mil instead. You know the 2nd chance drawing.... I'm beginning to doubt that they are pulling winners on the up and up. Because I just don't see how they could NOT have had a winner when all the entries are done electronically. Or are they? Maybe some people get stuff in the mail. I don't. I used to. But in April I stopped getting stuff from them in the mail, and have no clue as to why it stopped. And I know my last entry in the April give away didn't make it, because I ordered something for my daughter and I never got it...  so... hmmm... wonder what happened. Well ...

Niche or no Niche

Good afternoon to anyone who will listen! Now that I've decided to have this blog, my daughter encouraged me to look into copywriting. So I started doing a little research found a website and let them convince me to join the writers group. So I'm going through the website, reading information they publish, watching video after video to learn about copywriting! They swear it's easy. Yeah right! I've spent several hours since yesterday reading and watching and trying to figure out my 'niche'. You know that something that you are an expert on, or can become an expert on. Hmmmm....  Well that's the problem. I don't feel I'm knowledgeable on anything that I could actually sell or persuade someone else that I know what I'm writing about! I'm not really passionate about anything, well, does going to a casino count? Anyway, I'm not an expert on anything and I don't feel that what I have to say about any particular subject is worth any amount ...